Home > Deployment, DISM, DISM GUI, WAIK > DISM GUI 3.1

DISM GUI 3.1

**An Updated version of DISM GUI can be found here**

Version 3.1 of DISM GUI is ready for download.  No major changes in this just a few background changes and 2 usability updates based on feedback I received.

  • Added a confirmation dialog box to the exit button.  Now if you accidently click Exit you will be prompted to confirm exiting the program.
  • The WIM location and path can now handle quotes in the text box.
      I’m working on cleaning up the code and eventually turning this into a Codeplex project.  I really haven’t had a lot of time to work on it lately but hopefully early next year I can start on it. If you are interested in contributing to the Codeplex project when it goes live contact me
Categories: Deployment, DISM, DISM GUI, WAIK Tags: , ,
  1. Calvin
    December 23, 2011 at 10:29 am

    I tried DISM 3.1 today and it worked very well. The only thing I noticed was if you have more than 10 indexes the tool does not show it you can type it in and it will get that index. Other than that this worked great for what I need to do with it thank you.

  2. Pit
    January 23, 2012 at 7:39 am

    Hi Mike, a very helpfull tool but it should remember the paths to the last used WIM(s) and MountFolder.

    Pit

    • February 8, 2012 at 11:37 am

      Hi Pit,

      I had thought about that but I wanted to keep the application portable. In order to keep that information between runs I would have to write to the registry or a file somewhere. I will consider it for a future version though.

      • Pit
        February 9, 2012 at 4:23 am

        Hi Mike,

        exactly, if you would use an ini-file in the dism-gui folder the application could save it’s settings on the one hand but also remain portable.

        Pit

  3. February 8, 2012 at 11:38 am

    Calvin :

    I tried DISM 3.1 today and it worked very well. The only thing I noticed was if you have more than 10 indexes the tool does not show it you can type it in and it will get that index. Other than that this worked great for what I need to do with it thank you.

    This will be changed for the next version. I haven’t come across anyone else with that many indexes in a WIM file. Is it that common? Most of the time I have 1 or 2 indexes in a WIM file but that is just my (limited) experience.

  4. April 4, 2012 at 8:44 am

    I have tried this in a server 2008 environment and have never gotten it to successfully work. I edited the environmental variable path by adding the path to my dism.exe, this was separated by a “;” as well. Still no matter how I try to run it, I have has no success. I remember reading a post by someone on here stating that it has never been tested in a 2008 environment but since it is so similar to vista that it should work. I am starting to think this is not the case because I have been trying to get it to work for almost close to 2 weeks now. I am the imaging technician for the IT dept getting ready to deploy about 200 new devices across a broad network and it will be all new hardware that will need lots of drivers injected into my “Thick” images. This would help a great deal if it were compatible.

    • April 4, 2012 at 9:21 am

      Hi Johnny,

      Unfortunately I don’t have a Windows 2008 machine available to test on right now. I’ll see if I can setup a Win 2k8 VM and try it.

      if you are deploying 200 new machines I would seriously consider using MDT. It’s far more manageable than doing all this by hand.

  5. Pit
    April 11, 2012 at 8:25 am

    Hi Mike, when I try to remove a driver from the mounted image, DG always says “You must enter in a driver name before continuing. The Driver name must end with inf”. I took the appropriate name of the inf-file from the 3rd Party Driver List and I also tried entering the whole path to the inf-file in the driver package without success?! And why does DISM GUI not set an environment variable by itself when it doesn’t work properly without?

    Pit

  6. April 11, 2012 at 8:52 am

    Hi Pit,

    I found a typo in my code for removing the drivers. I will get it fixed up today and publish a fix for 3.1 that you can download.

    • Pit
      April 11, 2012 at 9:09 am

      Great, thanx!

      Pit

      • April 11, 2012 at 9:38 pm

        Version 3.1.1 is available now on the Codeplex site.

  7. Yuri
    July 13, 2012 at 5:44 am

    Hi. Would you make it work in a server 2008 environment?

  8. Aaron
    July 17, 2012 at 11:08 am

    I use a WIM file that contains over 20 indexes. I am using WIM’s like multi-indexed zip files. One index per hardware model. I have the drivers for each hardware model inside an index, and I apply just the index I need. Since WIM files use single instance storage, it’s not really that big compared to if I had all models drivers expanded out fully.

  9. sebus
    December 31, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    Do we expect support for dism from Windows 8?

    • January 2, 2013 at 4:48 pm

      Eventually yes there will be support for Windows 8.

  10. Mitch
    January 30, 2013 at 10:05 am

    Alright Mike, I think you’ve had just enough time off, time to get busy and whip v4 into shape. Just kidding of course! Your DISM GUI tool is fantastic and I’m looking forward to trying out the next incarnation. Cheers!

  11. George
    August 4, 2014 at 6:15 am

    Love using this tool. I am no good at long DOS type commands so this is brilliant, can’t wait for version 4. 🙂

  12. prasad
    July 27, 2016 at 6:41 am

    While I try to dismount, am getting the some error.

  13. nick
    November 9, 2016 at 6:40 am

    Hi Mike, will this work to alter a 64bit WIM within a 32bit windows environment? I am having issues with placing 64bit USB3 drivers into a 64bit iso, and all I have is a 32bit windows install computer! hoping this will help, I will probably try it tonight anyway (I tried the command line method but couldn’t force run it sysnative for 64bit…, and hope this is a work around for that).

  14. Mike McAnulty
    April 4, 2018 at 5:52 am

    Hi Mike,

    Just started using this instead of running DISM from the command line. My fingers are crossed that this will save me a lot of time. A live update of the DISM Output window would be good. The “DISM is Running. Please wait….” window hangs about for a long time without any indication that the process is running ok.

    Regards

    Mike

  1. November 30, 2011 at 3:23 pm
  2. November 30, 2011 at 3:56 pm
  3. February 8, 2012 at 11:34 am
  4. March 27, 2012 at 9:49 am

Leave a comment