Home > Deployment, DISM, DISM GUI > DISM GUI 3.0

DISM GUI 3.0

**An Updated version of DISM GUI can be found here**

Version 3.0 of DISM GUI is ready for download.  I’ve done a lot of background changes to this version and implemented a few more of the DISM features.  Some highlights of the changes.

  • Added this blog URL to the About screen.
  • Implemented all the options for the Package and Feature Management of DISM.
  • Cleaned up a lot of the background code.  Adding new features in the next release will be easier.
  • Removed word wrap from the output window and made the entire output window larger.
  • Implemented the remove driver functionality.
  • Added the ability to set the recurse function for drivers instead of forcing it every time.

These are just a few highlights.  In the next version I plan on adding the unattended servicing options as well as the WinPE options.  If you have a suggestion or feedback leave a comment below or contact me through the About tab up top.

Categories: Deployment, DISM, DISM GUI Tags: , ,
  1. Trevor Sullivan
    July 19, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Hmmm this could be a useful tool — any chance you could publish the source code under a CodePlex project?

    Cheers,
    Trevor Sullivan
    http://trevorsullivan.net

    • July 19, 2011 at 10:13 pm

      I thought about putting it up on Codeplex but I need to clean up the code first. I did quite a bit of cleanup for version 3 but there is still some left to do. I’m really not a programmer just an IT admin with enough VB knowledge to be dangerous!

      Once I get it cleaned up I will consider putting it on Codeplex.

      • Trevor Sullivan
        July 20, 2011 at 9:48 am

        Thanks for your response, Mike. I’m the same as you, so I understand. Nice work on this, and hope to see another version soon 🙂 I came across this looking for a GUI method of adding features to my WinPE boot images.

        Cheers,
        Trevor Sullivan
        http://trevorsullivan.net

  2. Kevin
    August 1, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    Hi Mike,

    Does this Gui only work on Windows 7? I installed the Windows AIK on my Windows Server 2008 Machine. I can run DISM through the “deployment tools command prompt” in the AIK, but not through the regular command line like you can in Win7. I’m assuming this is where your program tries to run it’s command?

    If I use the GUI and hit mount image, it shows the command it tried to enter. If I copy that and paste it into the “deployment tools command prompt” it then mounts the image and I can open the mounted folder. Do you have a way of switching which command tool this Gui uses?

    Thanks,

    Kevin

    • August 1, 2011 at 2:13 pm

      I have not tested this on a Windows 2008 machine. If your can’t run DISM through a standard command prompt but you can through the “deployment tools command prompt” shortcut then you probably need to add the path to your DISM executable to the PATH environment variable. My tool doesn’t allow you to specify a path to the DISM executable, it relies on the path to it being set in your PATH environment variable.

  3. Lee
    August 10, 2011 at 11:25 am

    Mike, I can’t find a definitive answer to whether or not DISM works (with or without GUI) on a non-R2 version of Windows Server 2008. Is there a difference, or something that would prevent it from operating correctly?

    • August 10, 2011 at 1:02 pm

      DISM should work on Windows 2008 as it’s pretty close to Vista. I’m pretty sure there is a hotfix that needs to be installed otherwise some of the functionality won’t work. Take a look at this thread for the hotfix information.

  4. August 22, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    A cancel options when you press exit by mistake would be good…

    I accidentally pressed the exit button moving my cursor down to the tool bar. It said “Do you want save and commit the changes to the WIM file” or something like that about keeping the file mounted etc. The little “Close window” ->X<- in the top right corner of the window was "ghosted" out. I didn't want to exit but wasn't given a choice. I had to wait about 30 minutes while it committed the changes to the file, only to reopen the wim, change one feature and wait to close/commit that change as well.

    I would like to see these options.
    Have a check box there to "unmount" the image, (if unchecked it remains an open mount)
    Have options of
    —- Save/Commit
    —- Discard
    —- Cancel Exit (Clearly if you have unmount checked and you press Cancel it doesn't unmount the WIM, it just closes the "exit" window.

    When I typed this up I went back and press "Exit" on an open WIM file again and the same message came up, this time I press "No", it closed out of the App, but when I reopened it, it wouldn't re-mount the WIM file. It kept saying "The folder must be empty" while it could read the fact a WIM was open, there was no way to tell the App to use that information.

    I had to go to the command line and Unmount the WIM file that was opened before I could re-mount it again though the APP.

    It's a great product but is lacking a little "Idiot proofing"

  5. August 25, 2011 at 3:52 am

    Thanks for the tool.
    Would you please add /ReadOnly option?

  6. Mike
    September 6, 2011 at 1:13 am

    Will this run under a Windows PE 3.1 bootable device? If so, could you list any packages that need to be installed on the WIM image?

    • September 7, 2011 at 8:26 am

      I do not know if this will run under Windows PE 3.1. It does rely on the .NET framework 3.5. it may but I have never tested it before.

  7. October 11, 2011 at 9:20 am

    Your download link does not work for me.

    • October 11, 2011 at 10:08 am

      Didn’t realize i had to sign into MSN live to get this but it worked thanks.

  8. November 4, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    Finally put this to good use today! One bug I found is that, if you have quotes in the WIM path, the application will throw an error. Sometimes I like to [Shift] + [RightClick] and “Copy as Path” to speed things up, so it would be nice if the application could handle the quotes in the path!

    Cheers,
    Trevor Sullivan
    http://trevorsullivan.net

  9. johnny
    March 30, 2012 at 11:52 am

    I am having alot of problems running this on a 2008 server machine. I added the path to my environmental variables (%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;%SYSTEMROOT%\System32\WindowsPowerShel l\v1.0\;C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\dism.exe) I had to actually add the dism.exe at the end there. And it still does not work. I confirmed that I cannot run DISM from a regular CMD. I can run it from the deployment CMD though. Any help would be appreciated

  1. June 24, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Leave a Reply

