Home > Deployment, MDT, Windows > Preinstalling IE10 on Windows 2008 R2/Windows 7 could cause issues in MDT 2012

Preinstalling IE10 on Windows 2008 R2/Windows 7 could cause issues in MDT 2012

I was updating our current Windows 2008 R2 image for MDT with all the latest security updates and ran into an annoying issue. After capturing the image and deploying it to VM (or a physical machine) I kept getting the error “Windows could not parse or process the unattend answer file for pass [specialize]”. I thought this was really odd because MDT created the Unattend.XML file for me. The same process has worked for me for over a year, why all of a sudden did it stop working?

I found my answer at this link. I must of accidently installed IE10 when doing my security updates. In the unattend.xml file there is a line for IE9 called . This does not existing in IE10 so it causes the specialize phase of Sysprep to fail. Below is a excerpt from the unattend.xml file that was causing the issue. You just need to comment out the line  <IEWelcomeMsg>  and you should be all set.

MDTImage

Categories: Deployment, MDT, Windows Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

