Home > Deployment, HP, MDT, Windows > Using HP Proliant Broadcom NICs in WinPE

Using HP Proliant Broadcom NICs in WinPE

We recently got in a new HP Proliant BL460c Gen8 blade with the HP 530FLB NIC. It’s a great piece of hardware but using the NIC in WinPE is not much fun.  We recently started using MDT to deploy Windows servers now but no matter what I did I could not get the NIC driver to load in WinPE.

Even though the drivers were imported into MDT and I had rebuilt my boot images it would not load.  Finally I ran HP’s driver installation utility from inside WinPE and it came up.  That’s when I discovered that the NIC needs the HP Virtual Bus Device driver loaded before it can load the NIC driver.  Looking at the PnP IDs that the driver supports I noticed they all start with b06bdrv\l2nd instead of the usual pci_<VenID>.  This is because the NIC virtual sits on top of another device. 

So why not just load the HP Virtual Bus Device in MDT?  That’s what I did but the HP Virtual Bus Device is a system-class driver and by default MDT does not copy system-class drivers into the boot images.  image

Sure you can configure it to add them but then your boot images will get much larger.  My solution was to instead put a copy of the HP Virtual Bus Device (evbd.inf) driver into my MDT boot image using the “Extra directory to add” feature in MDT.  I also imported the NIC drivers into MDT as I normally do. 

image

Once the boot image loads press F8 to open a new command window. Navigate to the folder you added to the MDT boot image (it should be right off the root) and enter drvload evbd.inf. After a few seconds the driver will load and the NIC should now be active. It’s not an ideal solution but since we don’t deploy a lot of these servers it works for me.  This same process would also apply to some of the other Broadcom NICs used in HP blades and servers like the NC373i and NC382i. 

Categories: Deployment, HP, MDT, Windows Tags: , , ,
  1. Guenther Schmied
    August 7, 2012 at 10:33 am

    Thank you for this blog – it solved my problem. I’m new to MDT and I didn’t realize, that only some of the drivers are injected into the wim. I never had problems booting ProLiants from WinPE, but booting with the one from MDT got no network. Now I know why.
    Because not only the BL460c Gen8 will have the problem with the VBD drivers (nearly every DL or ML Server has Broadcom NICs), I decided to inject all drivers to PE. But there is a more elegant way to get it to work, if you want to hold the image small: extract the boot.wim from the ISO, mount it and add the needed VBD drivers (there are at least bxvbd and evbd) and replace the original boot.wim in the image with the modified one.

  2. August 7, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    Hi Guenther,

    Glad I could help. I figured there had to be someone else out there with the same issue. I like your suggestion but if you ever completely regenerate your boot images you’ll need to make sure that you go back and add the drivers again.

  3. Guenther Schmied
    August 9, 2012 at 10:49 am

    That’s the reason why I decided (at least for the moment) to inject all drivers, no matter how big the image will become. So everything will be there if needed. And I didn’t see a remarkable difference in size.

    Something else: I have a problem with DISM. Whenever I mount a wim, inject drivers or do something else, I cannot dismount the image unless I restart my PC. Can it be Antivirus or something else? I believe I had the problem only asking for injected drivers.

  4. August 10, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    Something must be locking the folder that you have your WIM mounted to. I have seen just having and Explorer window open to that folder prevent DISM from dismounting. It’s possible AV could also cause the issue. I have not seen AV cause this issue before but it’s definitely possible.

  5. gbrayut
    January 3, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    THANKS! We have an HP c7000 chassis with HP BL460C G7 blades using the HP NC553i FlexFabric network adapters. I was able to use drvload to install the be2nd62.inf driver for Windows 2008 R2 (Same kernel used for WinPE) and the network started working in MDT. After finding the right drive I added it the the driver section of the MDT share and now it works automatically.

    Download link for WinPE Emulex driver:

    http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=3709945&prodSeriesId=4194735&prodNameId=4194638&swEnvOID=4064&swLang=8&mode=2&taskId=135&swItem=MTX-7b25cdd2a5f14e748bc9bf5a48

  6. September 12, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    You legend. This has saved my sanity

  7. August 28, 2015 at 9:55 am

    I was able to fix this issue (HP NC382i on DL380 G7) by selecting the check box “Include All System-class drivers in the selection Profile” and rebuilt the ISO. This check box is under the WinPE>Drivers and Patches in the Properties screen for MDT Deployment Share.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

